Welcome to the eilslabs

The eilslabs form a joint research group between the division "Theoretical Bioinformatics" at the German Cancer Research Center (dkfz) and the department Bioinformatics and Functional Genomics at the Institute of Pharmacy and Molecular Biotechnology (IPMB) at Heidelberg University. The group is headed by Prof. Roland Eils.


As part of the ‘medical informatics’ funding initiative the BMBF provides financing of €150 Mio. On July 10th, the federal minister for education and research, Johanna Wanka, announced that HiGHmed is one of four German consortia selected for funding. HiGHmed will receive around €30 Mio for the upcoming four years to create integrative data centers to promote data exchange and use for enhanced patient-centred therapies. Efficient multi-site data exchange will help use the ever-growing treasure trove of data – from radiologic imaging data to genomic analyses – for better health and medical care.

This is a great success for the HiGHmed team based in Heidelberg, Göttingen and Hannover. HiGHmed is coordinated by Prof. Roland Eils. Together with its partners, the team will use cutting edge information technologies for distinctive use cases in the fields of oncology, cardiology and infection control. The aim will be to fight pathogen outbreaks in hospitals and to treat cancer and cardiovascular diseases through more effective and individualized treatments.

For more information please refer to:

consortia representatives  

highmed consortium members

Minister Johanna Wanka und Alexander Hörbst with representatives of the four consortia selected for funding during the press conference in Berlin, 10.07.2017. From left to right: Alexander Hörbst (chairmen of the reviewer board), Klaus A. Kuhn (consortium DIFUTURE), Markus Löffler (consortium SMITH), Roland Eils (consortium HiGHmed), Johanna Wanka, Hans-Ulrich Prokosch (consortium MIRACUM) Photo: BMBF/Hans-Joachim Rickel


HiGHmed consortium members (from left to right during the hearing of the proposal in Berlin, 06.07.2017): Björn Bergh (Heidelberg University Hospital), Otto Rienhoff (University Medical Center Göttingen), Roland Eils (Heidelberg University Hospital and DKFZ), Ramin Yahyapour (University Medical Center Göttingen), Michael Marschollek (Hannover Medical School).